Modesty Is an Opportunity to Love by Jennifer Fulwiler (from NC Register)

There are a few women in the blogging world that regularly inspire me/blow my mind/make me laugh tears of joy and Jennifer Fulwiler is one of them. (Seriously. I laughed so hard when I read the beginning of her chapter in Style, Sex and Substance.) She just recently posted this little gem on modesty.  Please support her and read her other work at the National Catholic Register or her blog, Conversion Diary. You can also follow her on Twitter @conversiondiary.

Modesty is an Opportunity to Love by  Jennifer Fulwiler Wednesday,  July 11, 2012 4:45 AM

I got the memo. Those shady powers-that-be behind the Catholic blog  world called me, Simcha, Janet,  and Darwin and  told us that we’d better write about modesty this week or  else! So, alas, I have no choice but to share with you something I  learned about modesty after my conversion:

Growing up in secular culture, I don’t think I ever heard the topic of  modesty discussed, at least not like it is in religious circles. Parents of high  school classmates might have told their daughters that they had to wear  mini-skirts — no micro-minis allowed in this house! — but there was a sense of  purposelessness to it, like, “I don’t know why it’s a bad idea for my daughter  to go out of the house looking like that…I just have this vague feeling that  it is.”

Years later, in the process of converting to Catholicism, I encountered  serious discussion about this strange new concept called “modesty.” Plenty of  women in the secular world dressed with dignity and restraint, of course, but  this was the first time I’d seen modesty held up as a virtue with specific  characteristics, something clear and definable and worth aiming for. These  religious folks even had an interest in discussing this issue! A lot! My first  few forays into this strange new world involved reading some threads online in  which folks talked about modesty proponents who create strict guidelines for how  women should dress, then judge them accordingly. Though I never encountered any  of these people myself, everyone seemed to know a friend’s cousin’s  brother-in-law who believed that women who wore anything but ankle-length skirts  were on a one-way bus to hell.

Despite all the vitriolic debates that surrounded this issue, it seemed to  me that, as its core, there was something worth considering here. Nobody in  secular culture even wanted to discuss the downsides of women using the  Kardashian family as sartorial role models, and so I was relieved to see that  the concept was at least on someone’s radar. But something still felt wrong.  Christianity was said to be the religion of love, but all these harsh judgments  based on arbitrary regulations didn’t seem loving at all. If these kinds of  modesty standards really existed, they struck me as fear-based and  legalistic.

Then I began hanging out with actual real-life Catholics, and the whole  modesty thing clicked. The problem with both the secular and the religious  extremist views was that they were too narrowly, inwardly focused: Secular  culture said that each woman should be able to wear what whatever she wants,  without regard to how it might impact others; the modesty extremists said that  women were made worthy or unworthy depending on the details of how they clothed  themselves. In both worldviews, all the energy around the discussion is pointed  like a laser beam back at the woman…

Read the rest at: http://www.ncregister.com/blog/jennifer-fulwiler/modesty-is-an-opportunity-to-love/#ixzz20LJa5Yv0

Leave a Reply

